Best Countdown Apps for iPhone in 2026
Widgets, Apple Watch and iCloud, side by sideI make TimeTill, one of the six apps below, so read this knowing that. To keep it fair, every app is judged on the same criteria, every claim about another app comes from its own App Store listing, a feature its listing does not mention is marked “Not stated” rather than “No”, and the apps are in alphabetical order rather than ranked — which puts mine last.
Every listing checked on
The short answer
- Want the most widely used app and do not mind ads? Countdown Star has the most ratings, and $1.99 once removes the ads.
- Want widgets on every surface Apple offers? DayDrop and Kounts list the most placements; Kounts needs iOS 26.
- Want Lock Screen widgets, Apple Watch complications and iCloud sync without paying or signing up? That combination is what TimeTill offers on its free tier.
- On an older iPhone? TimeCount runs on iOS 16, but has no Apple Watch app.
Side by side
| Criterion | CountdownFind Appiness LLC | Countdown StarJoseph Merrill | Countdown Widget - DayDropHirak Banerjee | KountsDaniel Caceiro Aversari | TimeCountApp Forgeron LLC | TimeTillby the author of this page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US rating | 4.8 from 188,864 ratings | 4.8 from 216,225 ratings | 4.8 from 21 ratings | 5.0 from 8 ratings | 4.6 from 24,526 ratings | 5.0 from 12 ratings |
| Requires | iOS 17.0 | iOS 17.0 | iOS 18.0 | iOS 26.0 | iOS 16.0 | iOS 17.0 |
| Languages | 28 | 17 | 16 | 14 | 6 | 44 |
| Home Screen widgets | Premium“Place our Widget anywhere on your Home Screen … (Premium feature)” | YesSmall, medium and large | YesIncluding extra-large and a multi-event widget | YesEight Home Screen widgets | Yes | YesFree; a different event in every widget is Premium |
| Lock Screen widgets | Premium“Check your events on the Lock Screen with our widget (Premium feature)” | Not stated | Yes | YesPlus StandBy, Control Center and the Action Button | Not stated | YesEleven styles, five time formats |
| Apple Watch app | Yes | Yes | Not statedMentioned in a past release note, but not in the current compatibility list | Yes | No | Yes |
| Watch complications | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | No | Yes |
| iCloud sync | Yes | YesEvents and wallpapers, across iPhone, iPad and Watch | Premium | Premium | Not stated | YesFree |
| Account required | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | No | Not stated | No |
| Repeating events | YesYearly, monthly, weekly or daily | YearlyAnnual events advance to the next year | YesAnnual, monthly, weekly or biweekly | Yes | YesYearly, monthly, weekly or daily | YesWeekly, monthly, yearly or every few days |
| Count up from a past date | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not stated | Yes |
| Your own photos | Not statedColour backgrounds are listed; photos are not | YesOr 15+ built-in wallpapers | PremiumAI-generated backgrounds | Yes | YesFull-screen event photos | Premium |
| Ads | YesRemoved by the widget purchase | YesFree version; $1.99 removes them, or buy the ad-free app | Not stated | No | Not stated | No |
| Privacy label: data used to track you | Identifiers | Location, identifiers, usage data, diagnosticsFree version. The paid ad-free app declares diagnostics only, not linked to you | None declared | Diagnostics | User content | Purchases, identifiers, usage dataFrom measuring ad installs with Meta |
| Pricing (US) | Free with ads; $6.99 one-off unlocks widgets and removes ads | Free with ads; $1.99 Remove Ads, or a $1.99 ad-free app | Free; Premium $1.99/month, $12.99/year or $24.99 lifetime | Free up to 15 countdowns; Premium $9.99 or $19.99 lifetime; $1.99 content packs | Free; Premium $3.99/month, $19.99/year or $44.99 forever | Free; Premium $3.99/month, $8.99/year or $19.99 lifetime |
How these apps were compared
Each app was checked on 17 October 2026 against its US App Store listing: Apple’s own record of the app (description, release notes, supported devices, languages, version and rating), the in-app purchase prices shown on the listing, and the privacy label the developer filed with Apple. Nothing was taken from reviews, forums or other comparison sites.
The apps were chosen because they come up when you search the App Store for a countdown widget, are still being updated, and have either a large number of ratings or a feature set worth comparing. Dreamdays, once a popular choice, was left out because it has not been updated since 2019.
- “Not stated” means the listing does not say. The app may well do it — try it, or ask its developer.
- “Premium” means the listing names it as a paid feature.
- Prices are the US store’s at the time of checking. They vary by country and change over time.
- A privacy label is the developer’s own declaration to Apple, not an audit.
What to look for
Most countdown apps count down. The differences that matter are where the number shows up, what is free, and what the app does with your data.
- Widgets: a Home Screen widget you look at; a Lock Screen widget you see every time you raise the phone. Check which ones are free — in some apps the widget is the paid feature.
- Apple Watch: an app on the watch lists your events; a complication puts one on the watch face. They are not the same thing.
- Sync and accounts: iCloud sync needs no extra account, but in some apps it is Premium.
- Repeats and count-up: a yearly repeat means entering a birthday once; count-up tracks time since something happened.
- Ads and tracking: read the privacy label on the listing, under App Privacy.
Countdown
By Find Appiness LLC · 4.8 from 188,864 ratings · iOS 17.0 or later · App Store listing
Good at
- One of the most-rated countdown apps on the US store, and updated on the day this was checked.
- Repeats yearly, monthly, weekly or daily, counts up from past events and syncs over iCloud.
- Has an Apple Watch app.
Worth knowing
- Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets are both Premium features, so the free version has no widget.
- The free version shows ads; the $6.99 purchase removes them.
- The listing mentions colour backgrounds but not photos, and does not mention watch-face complications.
Countdown Star
By Joseph Merrill · 4.8 from 216,225 ratings · iOS 17.0 or later · App Store listing
Good at
- The most-rated app in this comparison on the US store.
- The cheapest way out of ads: a one-off $1.99, with no subscription anywhere.
- Your own photos as wallpapers, iCloud sync across iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch.
Worth knowing
- The free version shows ads and its privacy label lists location, identifiers, usage data and diagnostics as used to track you. The separate ad-free app’s label is much shorter.
- The listing names Home Screen widgets only; Lock Screen widgets and watch complications are not mentioned.
- Repeating is described for annual events only.
Countdown Widget - DayDrop
By Hirak Banerjee · 4.8 from 21 ratings · iOS 18.0 or later · App Store listing
Good at
- One of the widest ranges of widget placements here: Home Screen up to extra-large, a multi-event widget, Lock Screen, StandBy and Control Center.
- AI-generated photo backgrounds from a description of the event.
- The shortest privacy label here: usage data, not linked to you, for app functionality.
Worth knowing
- iCloud sync and the AI backgrounds are Premium.
- Apple Watch is not in the listing’s current compatibility list.
- Another, newer app is also called DayDrop — this is the one by Hirak Banerjee.
Kounts
By Daniel Caceiro Aversari · 5.0 from 8 ratings · iOS 26.0 or later · App Store listing
Good at
- Every widget is free, with no ads and no account, according to its listing.
- Apple Watch app with complications, and a native Mac app.
- Ready-made content packs — public holidays, films, games, moon phases — for $1.99 each.
Worth knowing
- Needs iOS 26 or later on every device, the highest minimum in this comparison.
- The free tier is capped at 15 countdowns, and iCloud sync is Premium.
- Only 8 ratings on the US store so far.
TimeCount
By App Forgeron LLC · 4.6 from 24,526 ratings · iOS 16.0 or later · App Store listing
Good at
- Runs on iOS 16, the lowest minimum here — the one to try on an older iPhone.
- A large rating base, and full-screen photos for each event.
Worth knowing
- iPhone only: no iPad version and no Apple Watch app.
- The listing does not say whether it has Lock Screen widgets, iCloud sync or a count-up mode.
- The listing shows several prices for the same tiers, so check the price in the app before buying.
TimeTill
By Andrii Kolisnyk, who wrote this page · 5.0 from 12 ratings · iOS 17.0 or later · App Store listing
Good at
- Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets on the free tier, with eleven Lock Screen styles and five time formats.
- A native Apple Watch app with configurable complications, and free iCloud sync with no account.
- Localised for 44 App Store markets, the most in this comparison.
Worth knowing
- On the free tier the configurable widgets share one event; a different event in each widget is Premium, as are photo backgrounds.
- Its privacy label lists purchases, identifiers and usage data as used to track you, because the app reports installs to Meta to measure its own advertising. The advertising identifier is read only if you allow tracking. It shows no ads.
- The Apple Watch app is in English only, and only 12 ratings on the US store so far.
Frequently asked questions
Which countdown app has Lock Screen widgets for free?
Of the six compared, Kounts and TimeTill say their widgets are free, and both include Lock Screen widgets. DayDrop lists Lock Screen widgets without marking them as paid. Countdown by Find Appiness makes both its Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets Premium.
Which countdown apps have Apple Watch complications?
Kounts and TimeTill both list watch complications. Countdown by Find Appiness and Countdown Star have Apple Watch apps, but their listings do not mention complications.
Is there a countdown app with no ads and no account?
Kounts and TimeTill both state no ads and no account. Countdown Star sells a separate ad-free version for $1.99.
Which countdown app works on an older iPhone?
TimeCount needs iOS 16. Countdown, Countdown Star and TimeTill need iOS 17, DayDrop iOS 18 and Kounts iOS 26.